Official Release: NSW Late Models

Central Coast’s Ryan Fenech has fought back from as low as fifth to claim the United Realty Gold Cup for the NSW Late Models at Valvoline Raceway.

The current NSW champion started the 30-lap feature race from second. The race offered drivers will double the prize money and double the championship points.

Polesitter Darryl Grimson had his heart in his mouth on lap six when Blake Lutiger spun in front of him in turn two. Grimson was lucky to escape and so too was Fenech who was close in behind.

Fenech slipped back to fifth after fifteen laps, but later admitted it was simply down to him and not the car for his early lack of pace.

“The car really came on strong, I guess I just over drove the start of the race and I faded a little bit and then I just got my composure under a yellow and I just talked myself through what I had to do and it all worked out really well,” Fenech said.

He made his march towards the front on a lap 16 restart when he went from third to first around the outside of Grimson and then Clatyon Pyne.

From then on, no one could touch him and went on to win the first feature of the season.

“We’ve picked up where we left off last season so it’s been an unreal night and hope to just keep building off this for the rest of the season.”

Grimson would hold on for second while Pyne fought hard for third.

The top five was rounded out by Todd Bayley and Nathan Disney.

Current Australian champion Darren Kane also took to the Valvoline Raceway clay, getting practice in for the 2019 Australian Championship on February 15th and 16th which will be held at the Parramatta facility. He finished the feature in sixth.

Round two of the United Realty NSW Late Models Club Championship will be at Valvoline Raceway on 13th October.

(Image – Ryan Fenech finished time trials in sixth before dominating his heat race and winning the Gold Cup – Gary Reid Photography)

Finishing Order

1. Ryan Fenech 30 laps

2. Darryl Grimson + 2.168

3. Clayton Pyne + 3.927

4. Todd Bayley + 5.153

5. Nathan Disney + 5.408

6. Darren Kane + 6.429

7. Tim Bink + 9.707

8. Nathan Smee + 11.339

9. Blake Lutiger + 12.146

10. Darrell Kime + 12.169

11. Liam Heaton + 13.259

12. Ed Borg DNF

13. Robert Carrig DNF

14. Daniel Moon DNF

15. David Doherty DNF

Championship points after round 1

1. Ryan Fenech 310

2. Darryl Grimson 292 - 18

3. Clayton Pyne 272 - 38

4. Nathan Disney 264 - 46

5. Todd Bayley 252 - 58

6. Blake Lutiger 224 - 86

7. Tim Bink 224 - 86

8. Liam Heaton 224 - 86

9. Darrell Kime 204 - 106

10. Daniel Moon 124 - 186

11. David Doherty 116 - 194

12. Ed Borg 100 - 210

13. Robert Carrig 92 - 218